The NHL Lockout is now over a week old. But it's not even the end of September, who cares if they do not play hockey for a few more weeks or even a month. Well, I'll get to the reason why the lockout needs to end now later in this post.
First, I would like to look at the reason why we are here. In 2004, when the last occurred, the big, resounding cry from the owners was all about "cost certainty" for years to come. Well, it many observer's eyes, the owners got everything they wanted and more. So the question for many people is, why do we need another lockout? What needs to change?
It seems like the current lockout is all about money, $3.3 billion to be exact. How will it be split? The previous CBA ended with the players receiving 57% of Hockey Related Revenue. The first offer from the owners gave the players only 46%, and the players countered with 54%. If you ask me, when this is all settled there will be a 50-50 split.
However, as long as the lockout out continues there will be a battle for public sympathy. Personally, I do not understand want the problem is with the current system. I guess you could say I sympathize with the players. If my employer came to me and suggested I take a 24% pay cut, I'd be really upset. Also, the fact that Gary Bettman likes to refer to this as a work stoppage and not a lockout out drives me nuts! Who do you think is winning the PR battle?
Who is the real loser in this lockout? The owners, the players, maybe the fans? Sure, they are all missing out, especially the fans. I know I miss it already, but the real losers are the ones that rely on the NHL for employment. The layoffs have already started. Some NHL teams have laid some staff off, others have started a 4 day work week. What about those game day staff like ushers or beer guys? Perhaps most affected are the restaurants and bars that surround NHL arenas and throughout the cities.
Let's get this problem solved. Let's get the the game out of the board, and back where it belongs, ON THE ICE!
No comments:
Post a Comment